Cobb County Divorce Records
Do you need to get a hold of divorce records in Cobb County? Whatever your intentions may be, you can do so provided that you know the proper procedure. Everyone in the state of Georgia is entitled to all documents the state has tracked and registered. This is pursuant to the Public Records Law.
Nonetheless, Georgia restricts access to some registers only to those individuals involved in the event. These records include divorce certificates. Divorce records that may only be requested through the state office are informational or uncertified ones. If you need a more certified copy, a valid reason must be presented and a request must be filed formally. Certified copies of divorce records in Georgia are accessible locally through the Probate Court of through the County Clerk’s Office.
Cobb County Court Records
The Vital Records Office, Department of Public Health is the agency which holds all registers of divorces in the Peach State since the year 1952. Divorce registers that took place before the Vital Statistics Office began recording can be accessed through the local court or county recorder. Before a divorce is deemed legal, it must be finalized by the Probate Judge and all proceedings are then archived in the Probate Court. Thus, should you wish to procure a more comprehensive account on the divorce, paying a visit to the Probate Court is actually way better as divorce records that are available here are not only comprehensive but also certified. However, please bear in mind that certified copies are again restricted. Therefore, you have to make sure you provide a valid reason for your request and file a formal entreaty. You request will then be reviewed by the Judge of the Court.
A request form is necessary when appealing for any Cobb County divorce records. This also serves as the application document and is obtainable through the abovementioned offices. Essential facts that must be indicated in the document are the husband and the wife’s full names, the wife’s maiden name, they date when they filed the divorce and the county where the event took place. Each divorce certificate requires costs $10. This fee will not be reimbursed, however, regardless if the Cobb County divorce record you filed an application for is not located.
Manually retrieving these documents is quite tedious as it entails some paper works and an unpredictable turnaround time. To avoid such hassle, you can actually place your request for any Cobb County divorce decrees online through various alternative record solutions. Because they have a statewide database, you can be guaranteed of a reliable, accurate and valid results in no time.
To process your application for divorce decrees and other vital registers in Cobb County, Georgia the usual way, you can follow the following instructions:
- – Determine whether you need a certified divorce document or an informational copy
- – Know the proper agency to file your entreaty at
- – Download the request form
- – Provide the full names of both the husband and the wife
- – Include the wife’s maiden name
- – Indicate the date and county the divorce was filed and approved
- – Submit the form together with the $10 search fee